Institute Staff and Associates

Staff

 

Derek Cook – Director

Derek Cook joined the Canadian Poverty Institute in 2015. Previously he served as the Executive Director of the Calgary Poverty Reduction Initiative, leading the Mayor’s task force on poverty reduction. Derek’s work also includes extensive experience in social research and policy development at The City of Calgary and in community development with various organizations across Canada. Currently, Derek serves on the board of Canada Without Poverty, a national anti-poverty organization. Derek holds a B.A. in Political Studies from McGill University, an M.Sc. in Rural Planning and Development from the University of Guelph, and is a Registered Social Worker in the Province of Alberta.

Telephone: 403-410-2913
Email: Derek.Cook@ambrose.edu 

 

Rita Yembilah – Senior Researcher 

Rita Yembilah's academic and research expertise spans topics in International and Community Development including  poverty and precarious livelihoods, social conflict, African Studies, Indigenous Knowledge, Gender Education as well as interrelated topics in social problems, social inequality and social justice. She has taught at the University of Calgary, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (Ghana) and maintains a teaching position at Mount Royal University (Calgary). Her work with nomadic (but sedentarizing) Fulani in West Africa have brought her into contact with interesting individuals from Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Nigeria and Senegal, resulting in a myriad cross-cultural experiences. Over the years, she has worked as a teacher at a rural elementary school, a library assistant; a Livelihoods Development Consultant and rep. for SmartKids Ghana, a program that supports gifted poor children to remain in school. She obtained her PhD and Master’s degrees from the University of Calgary and a BA First Class Honours from the University of Ghana, Accra. 

Telephone: 403-410-2000
Email: Rita.Yembilah@ambrose.edu

 

Chelsea Lamb - Graduate Research Assistant

Telephone: 403-410-2000
Email: CLamb@myambrose.edu

 

Roland Weisbrot - Research Assistant

Telephone: 403-410-2000
Email: RWeisbrot@my.ambrose.edu

 

Faculty Associates

 

Monetta Bailey 
Assistant Professor, Sociology (PhD (ABD), MA, BA)
Telephone: 403-410-2000 ext. 5901
Email: mbailey@ambrose.edu

 

Randy Poon

Associate Professor and Program Chair, Business Administration (PhD, MBA, BComm)
Department: Business Administration
Telephone: 403-410-2000 ext. 6513
Email: rpoon@ambrose.edu

 

Angie Redecopp

Associate Professor, Business and Development Studies (BEd, MBA)
Telephone: 403-410-2000
Email: aredecopp@ambrose.edu

 

Alex Sanderson
Associate Professor of Psychology and Behavioural Science Program Chair (PhD, MSc, BA)
Department: Behavioural Science
Telephone: 403-410-2000 ext. 5907
Email: asanderson@ambrose.edu

 

Beth Stovell 
Assistant Professor of Old Testament (PhD, MCS, BA)
Telephone: 403-410-2000 ext. 3995
Email: bstovell@ambrose.edu

 

Colin Toffelmire
Assistant Professor of Old Testament and Program Convenor (PhD, MA, BTh)
Telephone: 403-410-2000 ext. 6916
Email: ctoffelmire@ambrose.edu